NIHL round-up

Sheffield Spartans have confirmed the majority of last year’s squad are back for another season in NIHL North Moralee D1.

Ollie Barron remains as captain, and he’s joined on the roster by netminder Brandon Stones, prolific forward Stuart Brittle and new signing Mike Mawer, who switches from Sheffield Senators.

Spartans also hope to add at least one more new face ahead of the new season, with an import believed to be close to signing for the club. For full details about Spartans’ line-up please click here.

Solway Sharks have pulled off a major coup with the signing of vastly experienced forward Martin Cingel.

The Slovakian moves to Dumfries after notching nearly 350 points in the Elite League for Edinburgh Capitals and Dundee Stars.

Sharks have also signed Stevie Balmer from NIHL1S outfit Wightlink Raiders, whilst youngsters Calum Hepburn, Kyle Johnston, Stuart Kerr, Tom Watson, Scott Henderson and Michael Corbett will ice with the senior squad as well as their own SNL and junior sides.

Blackburn Hawks have confirmed the signing of Finnish defenseman Kim Miettinen from Åmåls SK. Jordan Bannon and Dave Meikle also return for another season. Callum Bowley has joined Telford Tigers NIHL after spending four seasons with their EPL team. Whitley Warriors have added Joe Stamp and Stuart Tomlinson to their defensive unit.

Deeside Dragons have boosted their D2N title hopes after snapping up Slovakian forward Adrian Palak from Romania’s Dunarea Galati. Paul Davies, Kenny Williams, Gav Austin and Aled Roberts are all back for another season, while Alex Parry returns after two years away from the game. Altrincham Aces have signed forward Ollie Bayne.

Blackburn Eagles have added another eight players to their roster including returnees James Riddoch, Joe Charlton and Tom Murphy. The Lancashire outfit also plan to add an import forward to their ranks.

Thomas Stuart-Dant has left Billingham Stars to join Cardiff Devils in NIHL1S. Chris Hart, Joey Morris, Lee Duance and Jack Randall have also been added to the roster. Invicta Dynamos have signed Josh Condren from London Raiders, while Elliott Dewey returns for another season.

Solent Devils have signed netminder Kevin McGurk from Oxford City Stars. Kyle Goddard and Paul Petts have also joined the club on two-way deals with Basingstoke Buffalo.

In D2S, Bristol Pitbulls have re-signed Jordan Smith and Jamie Newton. OHA graduate Logan Prince and Will Harrison have also joined the squad. Adam Harris has switched from Oxford to Slough Jets, while Timo Lindgren returns for another season at the Hangar. Haringey Racers have added Ian Shepherd and Lee Mercer to their roster.

Luke Takel, Jordan Powell and Robert Sedlak have signed for Cardiff Fire. Sean Richardson is back for another season with Wightlink Tigers. Ryan Turnbull, Kurt Tyrrell, Dan Murrells and Jake Bontoft have also joined the squad.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.