GB name 37-man long-list squad for World Championship

Great Britain Head Coach Pete Russell has named a 37-man long-list squad for April’s World Championship in Zagreb.

The squad will be cut to 28 for the pre-World Championship training camp which will get under way on 6th April 2016 and will include two games against Poland, taking place at the National Ice Centre in Nottingham and Coventry’s Skydome.

A final 23-man squad for the World Championship will be named after the two games against Poland.

GB will face hosts Croatia in the Division 1B tournament from 17th to 23rd April, as well as Estonia, Lithuania, Romania and Ukraine.

Russell said: “We have some exciting names on this list and I like the look of our squad. There really is big competition for the final 23 spots to go to Croatia, but the door is open for all the 37 players.

“We need to have the right balance from top to bottom on the final roster. We need guys with good offence, powerplay guys, players who are effective on the penalty kill and that needs to be spread throughout the team.”

GB’s international challenge matches against Poland will take place at the National Ice Centre on Saturday 9th April and the Skydome on Sunday 10th April.


Josh Batch – Cardiff Devils
Ben Bowns (NM) – Cardiff Devils
Jonathan Boxill – Belfast Giants
David Clarke – Nottingham Panthers
Russell Cowley – Coventry Blaze
Jordan Cownie – MK Lightning
Ben Davies – Braehead Clan
Matty Davies – Manchester Storm
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
Luke Ferrara – Sheffield Steelers
Mark Garside – Belfast Giants
James Griffin – MK Lightning
Matt Haywood – Braehead Clan
Lewis Hook – MK Lightning
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers
Joey Lewis – Heilbronner Falken
Stevie Lyle (NM) – Swindon Wildcats
Craig Moore – Dundee Stars
Evan Mosey – Nottingham Panthers
Thomas Murdy (NM) – Telford Tigers
Stephen Murphy (NM) – Belfast Giants
Matthew Myers – Nottingham Panthers
Sam Oakford – Nottingham Panthers
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers
Craig Peacock – Belfast Giants
David Phillips – Manchester Storm
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
Colin Shields – Belfast Giants
Zach Sullivan – Braehead Clan
Paul Swindlehurst – Manchester Storm
Ashley Tait – Coventry Blaze
Ross Venus – Coventry Blaze
Jonathan Weaver – Telford Tigers
Mike Will (NM) – Cardiff Devils

(Image permission: IceHockeyMedia)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.