National League structure 2016/17 confirmed

The League Management Committee of the National Ice Hockey League (NIHL) have confirmed the structure for the NIHL North and South for the upcoming season.

Both respective top divisions have lost teams at a late stage in the planning process.

In NIHL North Moralee D1 Sheffield Spartans withdrew in mid-July, while in D1S Cardiff Devils NIHL formally pulled out at the eleventh hour.

An offer of a place in NIHL South 1 was made to another team, but they could not proceed at such short notice.

The 2016/17 National Ice Hockey League season will begin on Saturday, 3rd September with the following structure:

North 1 (Moralee): Billingham Stars, Blackburn Hawks, Deeside Dragons, Solihull Barons, Solway Sharks, Sutton Sting, Telford Tigers, Whitley Warriors.

North 2 (Laidler): Altrincham Aces, Blackburn Eagles, Bradford Bulldogs, Coventry Blaze, Hull Jets, Nottingham Lions, Sheffield Senators, Widnes Wild.

South 1: Bracknell Hornets, Chelmsford Chieftains, Invicta Dynamos, London Raiders, Milton Keynes Thunder, Oxford City Stars, Solent Devils, Streatham IHC, Wightlink Raiders.

South 2 (West): Basingstoke Buffalo, Bristol Pitbulls, Cardiff Fire, Swindon Wildcats, Wightlink Buccaneers.

South 2 (East): Chelmsford Warriors, Haringey Racers, Invicta Mustangs, Lee Valley Lions, Peterborough Islanders, Slough Jets.

All league competitions will see the teams playing two home and two away against the other sides in their division.

Clubs and the LMC are working on the fixture list and this will be published along with details of additional Cup competitions and play-off formats in both North and South in the coming days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.