NIHL is ready to rumble

The National Ice Hockey League (NIHL) returns to the ice at the beginning of September, with teams across the country embarking on a seven-month regular season campaign.

Blackburn Hawks open the defence of their NIHL North Moralee D1 title on Sunday 11th September at home to Billingham Stars.

The Moralee season actually gets underway a week earlier with newly-promoted Deeside Dragons hosting Billingham, while Solihull Barons meet Sutton Sting.

Telford Tigers NIHL begin their season on Saturday 10th at home to Solihull, while title hopefuls Solway Sharks host Billingham on the same evening.

Whitley Warriors start their fixtures on Sunday 11th at home to Solway.

In Laidler D2 opening night is Saturday 3rd, with Altrincham Aces facing Nottingham Lions and Coventry Blaze playing Blackburn Eagles.

Widnes Wild kick their season off the following day at home to Hull Jets, while Nottingham host Sheffield Senators.

Bradford Bulldogs start their campaign on Saturday 10th at home to Coventry.

Four clubs in Moralee D1 are also playing in the Northern Cup – holders Billingham, Blackburn, Solway and Warriors. The fixtures will be confirmed in due course.

Reigning NIHL1 South champions Chelmsford Chieftains start their season at home to Invicta Dynamos on Saturday 10th.

MK Thunder meet Bracknell Hornets on Sunday 11th, while Wightlink Raiders travel to face Oxford City Stars the following evening.

Streatham, Solent Devils and London Raiders get their fixtures underway on Sunday 18th.

Early games in D2S include Chelmsford Warriors against Peterborough Islanders on Saturday 10th, Bristol Pitbulls at home to Basingstoke Buffalo the following Saturday and Cardiff Fire versus Swindon Wildcats NIHL on Sunday 25th.

D1S also has a cup competition, with Chelmsford, Invicta, London, Streatham and Wightlink playing a five-team round-robin (1H, 1A) before two-legged semi-finals and final in February and March.

The D2S cup competition features two groups of four, each playing a 1H, 1A round-robin.

The top two sides in each group meet in Cardiff for Finals Weekend in April.

Cardiff, Haringey Racers, Slough Jets and Wightlink Buccaneers are in Group A, while Bristol, Peterborough, Swindon and Lee Valley Lions make up Group B.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.