NIHL round-up

Gareth O’Flaherty

Coventry Blaze have boosted their NIHL North Laidler D2 promotion hopes with the addition of Dale White & Gareth O’Flaherty to their roster.

White has been a part of the Blaze Elite League squad for the past two seasons, while O’Flaherty joins from the EPL’s Telford Tigers.

The pair will focus on the Blaze NIHL team, but both will be available for the senior side. O’Flaherty will also ice for Manchester Phoenix in the EPL when available.

Jordan Bannon and Dave Clancy have agreed another season with Deeside Dragons, while ex-Telford Titans defenseman Mike Roden has also joined the North Wales outfit.

Sheffield Senators have confirmed a quartet of returnees to their roster, with Callum Rawson, Joel Aheran, Luke Smith and Tom Proctor agreeing another year. Jamie Hovell, Martin Chalke, Lee Holland and Christy Johnson-Brown have all been added to Nottingham Lions’ squad. Wes Nixon has signed for Blackburn Eagles after a spell away from senior hockey.

Moralee D1 champions Solway Sharks have welcomed back two of their treble-winning squad, with Ross Murray and Stevie Moore signing for another season. Czech defenseman Pavel Slowik has signed for Blackburn Hawks.

In NIHL1 South, Invicta Dynamos’ forward Andy Smith has agreed another year with the Kent club as he looks to close in on 1,000 career points. Dominic Hopkins is back for a third campaign with Streatham Redskins, while Louis Lockwood also returns after a spell with Cardiff Devils.

Bailey Wootton has joined London Raiders from Lee Valley Lions, while Player/Coach Danny Marshall has confirmed Tom Davis and Danny Peters have agreed another year. Andrew Goddard, Luke Tull, Mitchell Murray and Hugo Tibbitts have been added to the Solent Devils roster.

MK Thunder have signed Josh Nicklin from Coventry and Paul Gore returns to the club after spending last season with MK Lightning in the EPL. Forward Tom Mboya is also back for a fifth year and youngster Alex Whyte steps up for his first full senior season.

Bristol Pitbulls have completed their NIHL2S squad by re-signing Adrian Smith and Olly Shone, while Jack Cooper and Ali Band are back for another year with Haringey Racers.

(Image permission: John Knowles)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.