NIHL South round-up: Chieftains make it a treble

Chelmsford Chieftains clinched their third trophy of the season after a comfortable 17-5 aggregate victory over Streatham Redskins in the NIHL1 South Cup Final.

Darren Brown (2) and Matt Turner (2) topped the scoring as Chieftains ran out 7-2 winners at Streatham, while Juraj Huska (3) and James Ayling (2) led the way in their 10-3 success on home ice.

With the D1S league title, South East Trophy and now the D1S Cup in their grasp, Chieftains are strong favourites to make it a clean sweep with victory in the end-of-season play-offs.

Oxford City Stars claimed fourth place in the league with a 1-0 victory at MK Thunder – Ondrej Pekarik grabbed the winning goal.

Rio Grinell-Parke hit a hat-trick for London Raiders in their 7-1 win at Cardiff Devils NIHL.

In D2S, Chelmsford Warriors won 4-2 at Lee Valley Lions, while Cardiff Fire triumphed 16-0 on home ice against Wightlink Tigers.

Josh Ealey-Newman (4) led the scoring for Haringey Racers in their 9-2 home success against Invicta Mustangs.

Bristol Pitbulls won 7-4 at home to Basingstoke Buffalo – Olly Shone (2) and Jamie Newton (2) were amongst their scorers.

The line-up for the D2S promotion play-off semi-finals is as follows: Cardiff Fire v Peterborough Islanders, Chelmsford Warriors v Basingstoke Buffalo.


NIHL1 South Cup Final

1st leg – Streatham Redskins 2-7 Chelmsford Chieftains
2nd leg – Chelmsford Chieftains 10-3 Streatham Redskins (agg 17-5)

NIHL1 South

Cardiff Devils NIHL 1-7 London Raiders
MK Thunder 0-1 Oxford City Stars

NIHL2 South

Bristol Pitbulls 7-4 Basingstoke Buffalo
Cardiff Fire 16-0 Wightlink Tigers
Haringey Racers 9-2 Invicta Mustangs
Lee Valley Lions 2-4 Chelmsford Warriors

(Image permission: Steve Sutherland)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.