NIHL South round-up: Dynamos clinch play-off title

Invicta Dynamos claimed the NIHL1 South play-off title after completing a 10-7 aggregate victory over Chelmsford Chieftains.

Scott Bailey (2) and Adam Rehak (2) led the scoring for the Dynamos in their 8-3 win in the first leg, but the Chieftains fought back to close the gap to a single goal by the 43-minute mark in the reverse fixture.

However, Bailey settled their nerves midway through the final period with a fine finish, before Callum Fowler rounded things off in the 53rd minute to secure the silverware for the Kent outfit.

Peterborough Islanders won the D2S Cup after comfortably beating Cardiff Fire 5-0 at Ice Arena Wales.

The Islanders reached the final with a 5-2 victory over Wightlink Buccaneers, while Fire progressed courtesy of a 9-5 success against Swindon Wildcats NIHL.

Lee Valley Lions completed their league fixtures with a 3-2 victory at Slough Jets.


NIHL1 South play-offs

Invicta Dynamos 8-3 Chelmsford Chieftains
Chelmsford Chieftains 4-2 Invicta Dynamos (agg 7-10)

NIHL2 South

Cardiff Fire 9-5 Swindon Wildcats NIHL (Cup)
Peterborough Islanders 5-2 Wightlink Buccaneers (Cup)
Cardiff Fire 0-5 Peterborough Islanders (Cup)
Slough Jets 2-3 Lee Valley Lions

(Image permission: David Trevallion)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.