It’s as you were for the EPL play-offs

The EIHA has confirmed the 2016/17 EPL play-offs will follow the published rules of competition, with the top eight sides from the regular season qualifying as originally expected.

A meeting of club owners had sought to exclude Telford Tigers and Manchester Phoenix from post-season play as punishment for their financial issues, but that has now been overturned.

EIHA Chairman Ken Taggart has confirmed that a planned rule change to punish teams who liquidate or enter administration will be enforced from next season.

“The EIHA cannot support a decision with retrospective penalties,” said Taggart.

“I can guarantee that strong sanctions for violating agreed financial protocols will be included in next season’s rules of competition.

“This year’s play-offs will proceed under the existing rules, with the top eight teams from the league table playing in two round-robin groups before the traditional Coventry final-four weekend.”

(Image permission: Steve Brodie)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.