Scotland U19 seek revenge against England

The Scotland U19 team will play two matches to prepare for the annual curtain raiser to the Junior Conference Weekend to be held at iceSheffield at the end of May.

Scotland will take on a joint Kirkcaldy Kestrels/SNL select side on Saturday 13th May at Fife Ice Arena, before facing an SNL select side on Sunday 21st May at Murrayfield Ice Rink.

Joint Head Coach Steven Lynch said: “As we prepare for our annual Scotland versus England U19 game at the end of this month as the curtain raiser for the annual Conference weekend, there’s still a bitter taste in our mouths from last year, losing on penalty shots after dominating large spells of the game.

“Scott (Plews), Iain (Robertson) and I have deliberately selected a team with as many of last year’s players as possible, as I know they all feel the same and want another chance to put that right.

“Like last year, we have a fast, skilled team capable of winning. The team includes many players who are starting to break into the Elite League, some up and coming younger ones, GB internationals and ones that have been playing overseas, so again we have belief we can come back home with the Frank Dempster Bowl.

“These warm-up games give us a great opportunity to tweak one or two things and introduce and educate the new players we have brought in to give them an understanding of our systems and how we want them to play.

“As always, we are grateful to the staff and players of Kirkcaldy Kestrels as every year they are willing to support our national programme, and to the players of the SNL select side who will, like last year, provide the strong opposition we need to prepare.”

Saturday’s (13th) match at Fife Ice Arena will face-off at 7.00pm with prices at £6 for adults and £4 for concessions, while Sunday’s (21st) game at Murrayfield is £5 for everyone, face-off at 6.00pm.

Scotland U19 squad


Kyle Johnston – Solway Sharks
Angus Laing – Sheffield Senators


Kris Inglis – Dundee Stars
Ben MacFarlane – Dundee Tigers
Marty Simpson – Kirkcaldy Kestrels
Reece Cochrane – Kirkcaldy Kestrels
Adam Farmer – Kirkcaldy Kestrels
Ben Coughtrie – North Ayr Wild
Dean Hamilton- Paisley Pirates


Jack Durkacz – Aberdeen Lynx
Jordan Buesa – Braehead Clan
Ben Edmonds – Dundee Stars
Harry Ferguson – Edinburgh Capitals
Chad Smith – Fife Flyers
Aaron Robertson – Kirkcaldy Kestrels
Caly Robertson – Kirkcaldy Kestrels
Garry Simpson – Kirkcaldy Kestrels
Craig Garrigan – Skyland Kings
Daniel Abercrombie – Solway Sharks
Scott Henderson – Solway Sharks
Lewis Houston – Solway Sharks

(Image permission: IceHockeyMedia)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.